Community Banker Award

The New Hampshire Bankers Association (NHBA) is seeking nominations for its “2017 Community Banker of the Year Award.” Candidates for this award shall be any New Hampshire bank employee and respected community leader who has gone above and beyond in making a significant impact in their community through their time and service. 

“We are asking our small business owners, community members and leaders to think about a member of the banking industry who has gone above and beyond for their community,” Christiana Thornton, NHBA president/CEO explained.  “We rely on their feedback to recognize and honor one individual who has lead by example, who has put their community first and whose dedication has gone beyond what is expected of them.”

The 2017 Community Banker of the Year Award review panel will be made up of several leading public officials. Nomination letters should include an outline of the individual’s recent activities along with achievements, and should be accompanied by at least one letter of recommendation from a community or civic organization. The “2017 Community Banker of the Year” award will be presented at NHBA's Annual Conference, being held September 8-10, 2017.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, June 23, 2017.  Nomination letters should be mailed to the New Hampshire Bankers Association c/o Sue McKee, P.O. Box 2586, Concord NH 03302-2586, or via email to 




Year   Community Banker


2016 K. Mark Primeau

Bank of New Hampshire

2015 Kathryn G. Underwood

Ledyard National Bank 

2014 Stephen Christy
Mascoma Savings Bank

2013 David H. Cassidy, Jr.
Centrix Bank

2012 Mark A. Pitkin
Sugar River Bank

2011  James J. “Jay” O’Neill, Jr.
Federal Savings Bank

2010 Stephen W. Ensign
Lake Sunapee Bank, FSB

2009 James E. Tibbetts
First Colebrook Bank

2008 Ronald I. Sibley
Community Guaranty Savings Bank

2007 Philip M. Stone (posthumously)
Centrix Bank

2006 Jeffrey Goff
Ledyard National Bank

2005 R. Scott Bacon
Bank of New Hampshire

2004 Ann R. Lally     
Salem Co-Operative Bank

2003 Brian Tufts
Laconia Savings Bank 

2002 Harold R. Acres
Bank of New Hampshire

2001 Charles B. Paquette
Granite Bank

2000 Joseph B. Reilly
Centrix Bank        

1999 Sharon L. Davis
Pemigewasset National Bank       

1998 William F. Kidder (posthumously)
New London Trust

1997 None

1996 None

1995   Claudia Boys
Concord Savings Bank            

1994 Louis Tranfalia
Fleet Bank